Moonlight Syndrome, Translations

1. PROLOGUE (プロローグ)


Disclaimer: Moonlight Syndrome belongs to Human Entertainment and Suda51. God bless that once-creative soul before he went hipster.

Translator’s Notes are always found at the bottom of each page. Contains additional info and clears up certain things that come up in the game.

1

02

Meet the protagonist, Mika Kishii!
Meet the protagonist, Mika Kishii!
Coming home from school late at night
Coming home from school late at night
It all begins here...
The madness begins here…

MIKA: …あんなのだったら (Anna no dattara)
もっと早く帰ってくればよかった (motto hayaku kaette kureba yokatta)
くだらないコンパなんかに誘いやがって (kudaranai KONPA nanka ni sasoi yagatte)
カヅキの奴…… (Kazuki no yatsu)
…I could’ve gone home earlier,
if it wasn’t for that stupid party
Kazuki made me go to…

CHOICE 1: 振り向く (Furimuku)
CHOICE 2: 無視する (Mushi suru)
Turn around
Ignore it

CHOICE 1
MIKA: やめてほしいよね (Yamete hoshii yo ne)
しゃれにならないって… (share ni nara nai tte)
Hey, cut it out,
this isn’t funny…

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!

CHOICE A: 話しかける (Hanashikakeru)
CHOICE B: 逃げる (Nigeru)
CHOICE C: 様子を見る (Yousu wo miru)
Stand your ground
Run away
Don’t say a word

CHOICE A
MIKA: な, なんか用? (Na, nanka you)
Wha, what do you want?

MIKA: あの…聞いてますか? (Ano…kiitemasu ka)
Hey…are you listening?

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
“Hmm.”

MIKA: なんなの? あんた痴漢? (Nan na no Anta chikan)
What is it? Are you a pervert?

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
“You’re an interesting girl.”

MIKA: (頭おかしい, こいつ…) ([Atama okashii, koitsu])
(1)(Weirdo’s got a screw loose…)

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
“There is nothing you know. Nothing at all.”

MIKA: 消えた…? (Kieta)
Where’d he go…?

CHOICE B
MIKA: いないよ…… (Inai yo)
岸井のファン? (Kishii no FAN?)
サインが欲しかったとか… (SAIN ga hoshikatta to ka)
変態多すぎるよ, この辺… (Hentai ta-sugiru yo, kono hen)
He’s gone……
Was he from the Kishii fan club?
Probably wanted an autograph…
So many perverts in this place…

CHOICE C

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
“Good evening, miss. Please do not be alarmed. I would only like to borrow a minute of your time, for there is something I must inform you of.”

CHOICE I: 話を聞く (Hanashi wo kiku)
CHOICE II: 相手にしない (Aite ni shinai)
Lend an ear
Tell him to hit the road

CHOICE I

Greetings! I come with a monocle and a pimp cane!!!
“Please listen well. A great calamitous wave is headed your way. It has not yet arrived, fortunately. Our timely intervention is for the sole purpose of saving as many people as possible from this terrible event to take place in the near future. You, too, can be saved. So please, come with us. Now, before it is too late. Come…”

CHOICE I & CHOICE II
MIKA: 悪いんだけど… (Waruin dakedo)
全然興味無いし (Zenzen kyoumi nai shi)
なにいってるわかんない (nani itteru ka wakannai)
結構迷惑がられてるの知ってる? (kekkou meiwaku ga rareteru no shitteru)
いい加減, 現実知ってさ~ (Iikagen, genjitsu shitte sa)
立派な大人になったほうが良くない? (Rippa na otona ni natta hou ga yokunai)
友達いなくなるよ? (Tomodachi inaku naru yo)
って, もともといないか… (uTe, motomoto inai ka)
Sorry to say this, but…
I have no idea what you’re talking about,
and I couldn’t give a rat’s ass what you’ve got to say to me.
I have enough troubles as it is, you know?
More than enough even, so reality check!
What kind of grown-up are you anyway?
Did all your friends ditch you or something?
Please, this was a waste of time…

See ya, chump~!
See ya, chump~!
"And so...a new reality awaits you."
“And so…a new reality awaits you.”

CHOICE 2

CHOICE A: 振り向く (Furimuku)
CHOICE B: 気にしない (Ki ni shinai)
Turn around
Don’t bother

CHOICE A
(Refer to CHOICE 1, Mika’s response)

CHOICE B

"And so...a new reality awaits you."
“We are watching you, dear girl.”
"...Keheheheheheh. You'll be very surprised."
“…Keheheheheheh. You’ll be very surprised.”

MIKA: 誰なの! (Dare na no)
いい加減にしないとマジで殺すよ! (Iikagen ni shinai to maji de korosu yo)
ムカツク… (Mukatsuku)
Who the hell are you!
Stay away from me or I’ll rip your fucking nuts off!
Creep…

Laughter echoes in the air...
Laughter echoes in the air…
And the game is on!!!
And the game is on!!!

390

*Fzzzt!*
*Fzzzt!*
I am the Nightcrawler. Welcome to my playground!
I am the Nightcrawler. Welcome to my playground!
I HATE MY LIIIIIIFE
I HATE MY LIIIIIIFE

08

A strange voice calls out to our heroine... "Kishii-san~Kishii-san~"
A strange voice calls out to our heroine… “Ms. Kishii? Ms. Kishii?”

CHOICE 1: 振り向く (Furimuku)
CHOICE 2: 振り向かない (Furimukanai)
Turn around
Don’t turn around

CHOICE 1

...We have too many stairs
…We have too many stairs
(run down the stairs)
(run down the stairs)
(head left of the screen)
(head left of the screen)

CHOICE 2
MIKA: なんかヤバそう… (Nanka yaba sou)
早く帰ろ (Hayaku kaero)
Uh-oh.
I’d better get inside, quick!

A strange voice calls out to our heroine... "Kishii-san~Kishii-san~"
“Ms. Kishii? Ms. Kishii?”

(go back to CHOICES)

MIKA: 誰? そこにいるの? (Dare Soko ni iru no)
Who is it? Who’s there?

It is I, your strange friend and everyone's favorite target for verbal abuse: Aramata-kun!
“It is I, Ms. Kishii.” It is I, your strange friend and everyone’s favorite target for verbal abuse: Aramata-kun!

MIKA: ちょっと, いい加減にして~ (Chotto, iikagen ni shite)
なんかもう, こんな奴ばっか… (Nanka mou, konna yatsu bakka)
What? Speak up!
Don’t be vague, jackass, I’m warning you…

It is I, your strange friend and everyone's favorite target for verbal abuse: Aramata-kun!
“It is I, I tell you! Ms. Kishii!”
He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Here I am, look upon me!” He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!

MIKA: アラマタ…? (Aramata)
なんであんたがこんなとこにいるの? (Nande anta ga konna toko ni iru no)
開店休業中なんですけど… (Kaiten kyuugyou naka nandesu kedo)
Aramata…?
Why are you here of all places?
I know you don’t have work cut out for you lately, but still…

He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Do not be too at ease. This area and the people in it are as restless as they come. Seems I haven’t lost my touch.”

MIKA: へ~, あいかわらずだね (Hee, aikawarazu da ne)
最近, 落ち日だもんね, あんた (Saikin, ochi hi da mon ne, anta)
アラマタなんてもうみんな忘れてるしね (Aramata nante mou minna wasureteru shi ne)
Hah, you never change.
You’ve been out of work for a while now too.
Looks like everybody’s starting to forget you’re around.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Your words sting me, Ms. Kishii. You speak of my writing, yes? It may not seem much, but there’s been an emergence of strange things in this town, and I have been looking into them as of late.”

MIKA: …ふ~ん (Huun)
よくわかんないけど大変なんだね (Yoku wakannai kedo taihen nanda ne)
でも, なんもないよ, この街 (Demo, nan mo nai yo, kono machi)
…Hmmm.
I really don’t get it but it sounds dangerous.
Still, our neighborhood’s as normal as it can get.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“With captions like, ‘Students Flunk Their Exams’. No, no. ‘Excused Students Involved in Unpleasant Accidents’.”

MIKA: あんたさぁ, 文化人の端くれなんだから (Anta saa, bunkajin no hashikure nan dakara)
しっかり説明してよ~ (shikkari setsumei shite yo)
Oh brother. You’re part of our culture’s greatest wonders,
so can’t you be a little less obtuse?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Then let me make it easier for you to understand. You children see the police everyday. They may be dressed for the job from head-to-toe, but they are of no help to anyone, let alone to themselves. This city is dotted with people’s fears and misgivings. Any unusual activity in the vicinity, and their first instinct is to shoot. Also! Cases of missing people are always trodden underfoot. And so, not one of them has ever come home.”

MIKA: ……ねえ (Nee)
もうやめてほうがいいよ? (Mou yamete hou ga ii yo)
アラマタの話って, ダラダラ長くて (Aramata no hanashitte, DARADARA nagakute)
つまんないって評判なんだから… (Tsumannai tte hyouban nan dakara)
……Look.
Cut it out already, OK?
You’re just making a tangent out of nonsense.
Boring rumours are boring.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“How…how could you say that!? Do you mean to say that this gray-haired old man and his good looks cannot be holding a plethora of vital information?”

MIKA: 無駄な知識じゃ生きてけないよ  (Muda na chishiki ja ikitekenai yo)
Gossip never lasts, it’s the truth.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“…I see. I suppose that was mostly a miss. Let’s get to the real issue at hand, then.”

MIKA: まだあるの? (Mada aru no)
もう家に帰りたいんだけど (Mou ie ni kaeritain dakedo)
There’s still more?
I just want to go home already…

CHOICE 1: 話を聞く (Hanashi wo kiku)
CHOICE 2: 帰る (Kaeru)
Hear him out
Go inside

CHOICE 1

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Adults’ stories all come from being questioned. Do you understand? Somehow, you are heavily involved in this as well, Ms. Kishii.”

MIKA: あたしに? (Atashi ni)
Who, me?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Quite right. The school you go to has a part to play in all of this as well. The amount of paranormal activity in that area has reached peak levels. This phenomenon’s caused me to look further into the matter.”

MIKA: いわれてみれば, ちょっと異常だよね (Iwaretemireba, chotto ijou da yo ne)
あんな学校なかなかないもん… (Anna gakkou naka naka nai mon)
Now that you’ve mentioned it, something hasn’t been feeling right.
People are getting agitated at my school too, for some reason…

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Please do recall, the events that took place before…”
Flashbacks in motion: Hanako-san...
Flashbacks in motion: Hanako-san…
...suicides at school...
…suicides at school…
...depression...
…depression…
...floating amoeba...
…floating amoeba…
...Hanasaka Jii-san??...
…Hanasaka Jii-san??…
...spooks taking the train...
…spooks taking the train…
...a scary jii-san with a meat cleaver...
…a scary jii-san with a meat cleaver…
"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“That isn’t all…”
...I'm assuming that this is a previous version of Yukari Hasegawa...
…I’m assuming that this is a previous version of Yukari Hasegawa…

MIKA: ……確かにいわれてみれば (Tashika ni iwarete mireba)
……Come to think of it.

“Both you and Ms. Yukari Hasegawa have shared this experience, yes?”

...and was upgraded to this hottie
…and was upgraded to this hottie

MIKA: アッ! センパイ! (Au Senpai)
Ah! Senpai!

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Well? Eeeeerie, is it not?”

MIKA: どうして…? (Doushite)
But why…?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“What’s that now?”

MIKA: どうして… (Doushite)
今まで気付かなかったん だろう? (Ima made kidzukanakattan darou)
ほんと, 普通じゃないんだよね (Honto, futsuu ja nain da yo ne)
それにこの頃だって… (Sore ni kono goro datte)
Why now…
Why did you point this out at the last minute for me?
You have to be making it up.
Especially at this time of the year…

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“That is because, Ms. Kishii, you have too much influence on this neighborhood. Our area is concentrated with spiritual energy. This allows those from the other world to cross over to ours. There is nothing we can do to be rid of this. It is even sadder in this case. Our awareness cannot fight off abnormalities that make their appearance either. We have ways of keeping our normal lives as normal as possible, but this may be construed as ‘covering bald patches’ rather than ‘preserving’.”

MIKA: そんな難しいことはどうでもいいの! (Sonna katashii koto ha dou demo ii no)
とにかく, 何かへんなの… (Tonikaku, nanika hen na no)
さっきもへんな奴があたしに… (Sakki mo hen na yatsu ga atashi ni)
I don’t care about any of that!
The point is, something’s not right…
I had someone who was in the same situation as me before…

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Yes. I know. I was there.”

MIKA: だったら! (Dattara)
どうして助けてくれなかったの? (Doushite tasukete kure nakatta no)
あたしが汚れたら (Atashi ga yoguretara)
アラマタだって悲しくなるでしょ? (Aramata datte kanashiku naru desho)
Exactly!
So why won’t you help me?
If something happened to me,
wouldn’t it upset you?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“So you say. But I am also a pervert at least once a week. It would look so strange for a young girl and a gray-haired gentleman to be seen together. Besides…”

MIKA: ……マジ? (Maji)
あんた, そんな趣味あるの? (Anta, sonna shuumi aru no?)
……Are you for real?
You really don’t want to be a part of this?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Oh, that isn’t really the problem here! The truth is, I have no prior experience unlike yourself. I’m also not very good at establishing a balance between my lifestyle and my work. I may be a devil, but this is out of my hands. The problems of this town are the problems of the community.”

MIKA: それってさ? 逃げてるとか? (Sorette sa Nigeteru to ka)
So then…you’re just going to back off…aren’t you?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“It is as you say.”

MIKA: 意気地の無い男… (Ikiji no nai otoko)
もういい! (Mou ii)
誰もあんたなんかに (Daremo anta nanka ni)
助けてもらおうなんて思ってませんから! (tasukete moraou nante omottemasen kara)
You spineless old git…
Fine!
I can’t recall a time
when you helped anybody anyway!

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Now, now. Don’t be so quick to get angry. I can still be indirectly involved with this matter.”

MIKA: なにそれ~? (Nani sore)
マジでいってんの? (Maji de itten no)
あんたみたいなオタクオヤジに (Anta mitai na OTAKU OYAJI ni)
何ができんの? (nani ga dekin no)
理屈こねるしか能がないクセして… (Rikutsu konerushi ka nou ga nai kuse shite)
What’s that about?
Is that true?
So, how’s Aramata the Expert
going to make himself more useful, hmm?
(3)Don’t tell me you’ll just walk around quibbling theories like an old geezer…

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Hm? Well, I thought that would be a nice addition.”

MIKA: え? なんかいいました? (E Nanka iimashita)
アラマタくん (Aramata-kun)
あたしに文句でもいいたいのかな~? (Atashi ni monku demo iitai no ka na)
Oh, you’ve got to be kidding me.
Don’t make this hard for us both, old man.
I just might make the next 5 minutes extremely awkward for you if you don’t think of something useful to do.

CHOICE 2
MIKA: 悪いんだけど… (Waruin dakedo)
そんなに時間がないのよね~ (Sonna ni jikan ga nai no yo ne)
Sorry to cut you short…
I don’t have all the time in the world, you know.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“I, I understand! How about this, then? My role as it stands is that of a keen observer of this neighborhood. In other words, Ms. Kishii, I will be able to keep track of your progress as you move around.”

MIKA: のぞき? (Nozoki)
(2)What are you, a peeping tom?

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Precisely. A law-approved peeping tom, if you will. I will take care of the documentation for you. And so, Ms. Kishii, wherever you will see me, you may leave a record of your progress. That makes things easier for you, yes?”

MIKA: ふ~ん, 今回はなかなか (Huun, konkai ha naka naka)
役にたつ存在になったんだね~ (yaku ni tatsu sonzai ni nattan da ne)
Hmmm. Well, I guess for now,
I’ll sign up for the job.

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Now then, would you like to leave a record now?”

SCREEN: セーブしますか? YES NO (SEEBU shimasu ka)
Would you like to save your progress? YES NO

IF YOU SELECT “YES”:
SCREEN: メモリーカードのチェック中です (MEMORII KAADO no CHEKKU chuu desu)
Checking Memory Card…

IF YOU ALREADY HAVE SAVED DATA:
SCREEN: 上書きしますか? YES NO (Uwagaki shimasu ka)

Overwrite saved data? YES NO

SCREEN: メモリーカードにデータをセーブ中です (MEMORII KAADO ni DEETA wo SEEBU chuu desu)
Saving data in Memory Card…

SCREEN: セーブしました (SEEBU shimashita)
Data saved

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“Done. May you have a good one.”

MIKA: …なんか, ロープレみたいじゃん (Nanka, ROOPURE mitai jan)
ちゃんとやってよ! (Chanto yatte yo)
…Kind of feels like an RPG game.
Totally doing it!

"Here I am, look upon me!" He will also serve as your savepoint during the game. Good luck finding him!
“I suppose you call it as you see it. Now then…stay well, and stay alert! Goodbye, and till we meet again.”
Toodles~!
Toodles~!

MIKA: アラマタと話すと, ほんと長くなる (Aramata to hanashisu to, honto nagaku naru)
Aramata’ll always have a knack for making people’s heads spin.

You know that feeling when you've been listening to someone who talks in riddles?
You know that feeling when you’ve been listening to someone who talks in riddles?
Girls shouldn't stay out late!
Girls shouldn’t stay out late!

MIKA: ヤバッ! (Yabau)
こんな時間になっちゃった… (Konna jikan ni nacchatta)
Cripes!
I’ve been out for too long…

FUN FACT: The Kishii family live in a pyramid
FUN FACT: The Kishii family live in a pyramid

24

25

MIKA: ただいま~ (Tadaima)
I’m home!

25
MIKA’S MOM: “Mika? Is that you?”

MIKA: う~ん (Uun)
Yep!

25
MIKA’S MOM: “Welcome back! Dinner will be ready in a minute!”

MIKA: は~い (Haai)
OK!

Mika's room
Mika’s room

MIKA: 疲れた~ (Tsukareta)
Whew, I’m beat.

My pixels hurt. Don't wanna get up!
My pixels hurt. Don’t wanna get up!
My pixels hurt. Don't wanna get up!
MIKA’S MOM: “Mika! Hurry up or your food’s going to get cold!”

MIKA: …ダメ~ (Dame)
今日はいらな~い (Kyou ha iranaai)
…I’ll pass!
I don’t feel hungry at all!

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
There’s an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)

MIKA: …もしもし (Moshi-moshi)
…Hello?

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“It’s me.”

MIKA: どうしたの? こんな時間に? (Doushita no Konna jikan ni)
Oh hey. What’s up? It’s late.

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“Not really, er, well I guess it is. You feeling alright?”

MIKA: うん… (Un)
Yeah…

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“Let’s meet up. We need to talk.”

MIKA: …え? (E)
…今から? (Ima kara)
…What?
…Right now?

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“No good? It’s really important.”

MIKA: …ちょっと眠いけど (Chotto nemui kedo)
…でも, いいよ (Demo, ii yo)
…I’d rather stay in and catch up on sleep.
…But alright.

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“I know it’s late, and I do worry about you. I really don’t want to push you into going for a long walk at this time of the night.”

MIKA: ……そう? (Sou)
そんな心配しなくたって平気だよ (Sonna shinpai shinakutatte heiki da yo)
……Is that so?
You don’t have to worry about me, I’ll be fine.

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“It’s what I’d expect of you, Mika. You were born tough.”

MIKA: …うん, ありがと (Un, arigato)
…今どこ? (Ima doko)
…Heh, thanks.
…Where are you?

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“Let’s meet up at the park.”

MIKA: いつもんとこね? (Itsumon toko ne)
わかった, すぐに出るね (Wakatta, sugu ni deru ne)
Our usual, huh?
Alright, I’m heading out now.

There's an ass at the other end (haha get it? me and my dumb puns)
“No rush.” *pip*

(if you run while trying to sneak out)

MIKA'S MOM: "Mika? Where are you running off at this hour?"
MIKA’S MOM: “Mika? Where are you running off at this hour?”
Sneaking out to see a boyfriend
Sneaking out to see a boyfriend
Their fateful encounter
Their fateful encounter

31

MIKA: ……なんだこいつ? (Nanda koitsu)
……気持ち悪い (Kimochi warui)
……What’s with that guy?
……He looks like bad news.

32

RYOU: ……キョウコ? (Kyouko)
……まさか? (Masaka)
……Kyouko?
……Nah, it can’t be.

If Ryou's bad news, WHAT'S THIS GUY!?
If Ryou’s bad news, WHAT’S THIS GUY!?
From Sumio's POV: Kyoko v.2
From Sumio’s POV: Kyouko v.2

MIKA: …待った? (Matta)
ごめんね, 急いだつもりなんだけど (Gomen ne, isoida tsumori nanda kedo)
うまく出れなくてさ…… (Umaku dere nakute sa)
…Did you wait that long?
Sorry about that, I wanted to come rushing over here.
But I had to sneak out so my folks wouldn’t notice……

MIKA: …すごく会いたかったよ (Sugoku aitakatta yo)
なんか懐かしい, あなたの顔 (Nanka natsukashii, anata no kao)
…I really wanted to see you.
We haven’t seen each other for so long.

MIKA: …どうしたの? (Doushita no)
元気ないみたいだけど… (Genki nai mitai dakedo)
…What’s the matter?
You don’t look so good…

Next day at school...
Next day at school…

MIHO: ねえねえ, 聞いた? (Nee nee, kiita)
昨日の事故…… (Kinou no jiko)
Hey guys, did you hear about
the accident last night?

MIKA: なにそれ? (Nani sore)
What’s that about?

MIHO: どこだっけ, あの山? (Doko dakke, ano yama)
Anyone know which part of that mountain?

KAZUKI: 麗月峠のでしょ? (Reigetsu Touge no deshou)
すごい事故らしいじゃん! (Sugoi jiko rashii jan)
(4)It was at a steep turn on Reigetsu Pass, wasn’t it?
The whole thing blows my mind!

MIHO: そうそう! (Sou sou)
I know!

KAZUKI: キョウコさん, 死んだとか…? (Kyouko-san, shinda to ka)
Did Kyouko-san really die last night…?

MIKI: うちら, 1年の時の (Uchira, 1-nen no ji no)
3年の先輩でしょ? (3-nen no senpai desho)
We were first years then,
and she was in her third year.

MIKA: そんな人いたっけ? (Sonna hito itakke)
Never heard of her up till now.

MIHO: 覚えてないの? (Oboetenai no)
ミカと双子みたいにシックリだって (Mika to futago mitai ni shikkuri datte)
一時, 話題いなったじゃん (Ichiji, wadai inatta jan)
You don’t remember her?
You two were like identical twins standing next to each other!
We talked about it more than once!

KAZUKI: 結構, 似てたよね (Kekkou, ni te ta yo ne)
You do resemble her a lot.

MIKA: えっ? その先輩死んだの? (Eu Sono senpai shin da no)
Wow. She’s the senpai who went and died?

KAZUKI: ミンチでしょ, そりゃ~ (MINCHI desho, sorya)
トラック激突だって…… (TORAKKU gekitotsu datte)
Crashed headlong into
a meat truck too……

MIHO: 死体なんか (Shitai nanka)
ほとんどふっとんでるって話だし (hotondo futtonderutte hanashi dashi)
There’s even talk about her body
being in a lot of pieces in the explosion.

MIKI: マジ~? (Maji)
Seriously?

MIHO: マジマジ! (Maji maji)
回収なんて, できない状態で (Kaishuu nante, dekinai joutai de)
おまわりが手分けして (Omawari ga tewake shite)
肉集めてたって…… (niku atsumete tatte)
Yes!
I hear they’re still looking for the rest of her.
They’ve got people all over the place
searching high and low for her bits……

MIKA: やめなって, そんな話… (Yame natte, sonna hanashi)
Guys, let’s stop talking about this already…

MIHO: ミカ! あんたに言われたくないよ! (Mika Anta ni iwareta kunai yo)
噂の発信がなにいってんの? (Uwasa no hasshin ga nani itten no)
Mika! You haven’t shared anything!
Why weren’t you looking into the accident?

MIKA: 他人事じゃないって… (Tanin koto janai tte)
自分に似てる人が死んだなんて… (Jibun ni niteru hito ga shinda nante)
I don’t want any part of it…
Someone who looks like me just died, you know…

MIHO: …らしくないね? (Rashikunai ne)
最近, やけにおとなしくない? (Saikin, yake ni otonashi kunai)
ユカリさんに相手されないからって (Yukari-san ni aite sarenai kara tte)
……弱気になって? (Yowaki ni natte)
…You’re acting weird.
You’ve been awfully dull lately.
Without Yukari-san to hang out with, that is.
……Don’t you think that’s coming off as weak?

MIKA: なに? なにがいいたいの? (Nani Nani ga iitai no)
Excuse me? What are you getting at?

KAZUKI: やめなって, ミカ! (Yame natte Mika)
ミホ, なに絡んでんの! (Miho, nani karanden no)
Mika, don’t!
Miho, watch what you say!

MIHO: なんだこのアマ! むかつくんだよっ! (Nanda kono AMA Mukatsukun da you)
デマばっか流して, 人弄んでんだろっ! (DEMA bakka nagashite, hito moteasonden darou)
今さら, ヒューマニズム? (Ima sara HYUUMANIZUMU)
…格好つけるなよ! (Kakkoutsukeru na yo)
Well, excuse me! She pisses me off, you know!
A rumor like this one floats around, and she gets frigid!
What are you now, a humanist?
(5)…Don’t be so full of yourself, tramp!

MIKA: ミホ, なに迂ギレしてんの? (Miho, nani ugire shiten no)
あんたさ (Anta sa)
アレだからって人に当たってる? (are dakaratte hito ni atatteru)
バカじゃないの? (Baka janai no)
Don’t waste your breath on me, Miho.
First of all,
you like shooting your mouth off about anything that piques your interest.
You don’t think that’s pathetic?

MIHO: 岸井, テメェ…… (Kishii, temee)
Kishii, you bitch……!

KAZUKI: ミカやめな, 相手するなって! (Mika yame na, aite suru natte)
Mika, stop it! Guys, just stop!

MIKI: ミホ, やめときなよ~ (Miho, yame toki na yo)
ロじゃ, ミカに勝てないよ~ (Ro ja, Mika ni katenai yo)
Miho, let it go…
You guys are even, OK?

MIHO: うるせ一よ! (Urusee yo)
キシイィ~…… (Kishiii)
ミキ, いくよっ! (Miki, iku you)
Shut up!
Grrrrr……
Miki, let’s go!

You guys suck, I'm out!
You guys suck, I’m out!

35

KAZUKI: 荒れてるな, ミホの奴 (Areteru na, Miho no yatsu)
ミカ, 気にするなって (Mika, ki ni surunatte)
この時期, 不安なんだよ… (Kono jiki, fuan nanda yo)
Miho really lets her mouth run off like that.
Mika, don’t let her get to you.
You really had me worried there…

MIKA: わかってる… (Wakatteru)
最近ヘンだもん, この街… (Saikin hen da mon, kono machi)
Yeah, I know…
Our whole neighborhood’s just been acting so weird lately…

KAZUKI: みんな, 敏感になってるんだよ (Minna, binkan ni natterun da yo)
Everyone has been on edge these days.

KAZUKI: …そいうえばさ (Soiueba sa)
ルミの兄貴って (Rumi no aniki tte)
キョウコさんと付き合ってたんでしょ? (Kyouko-san to tsukiatte tan desho)
…By the way.
Did you know that Rumi’s older brother
went out with Kyoko-san?

MIKA: ……

KAZUKI: どうしたの? ミカ顔青いよ? (Doushita no? Mika kao aoi yo)
Mika, are you feeling OK? You look pale all of a sudden.

MIKA: うん, 大丈夫だけど… (Un, daijoubu dakedo)
…そいうえば, ルミは? (Soiueba, Rumi ha)
Oh, yeah. I’m fine.
…Where’s Rumi by the way?

KAZUKI: 今日, 休みだよ (Kyou, yasumi da yo)
She didn’t come in today.

MIKA: ルミ…… (Rumi)
Rumi……

Friends stick together...
Friends stick together…

36

KAZUKI: ミカ, どうしたの~? (Mika doushita no)
ミホのこと, まだ気にしてる? (Miho no koto, mada ki ni shiteru)
Mika, are you OK?
Are you still bothered by what Miho said to you?

MIKA: ん…
そんなんじゃないけど、なんかね (Sonnan janai kedo, nanka ne)
Um…
Not exactly, but kinda.

KAZUKI: センパイのところ行かないの? (Senpai no tokoro ikanai no)
あんたの活力源でしょ (Anta no katsuryoku gen desho)
Are you going to see Senpai after?
You could go cheer her on, make snacks or something.

MIKA: センパイも逸島センパイも (Senpai mo Itsushima-senpai mo)
来年受験だからね (Rainen juken dakara ne)
あたしがいけば邪魔しちゃうし… (Atashi ga ikeba jama shichau shi)
I probably shouldn’t. Senpai and Itsushima-senpai
are so busy studying up for the big exam.
I’d just get in their way.

KAZUKI: あんたらしくないね… (Anta rashikunai ne)
そうだ! (Sou da)
I don’t think you would…
Oh, hey!

MIKA: え? (E)
What’s up?

KAZUKI: ミカ, 夜ヒマ? (Mika, yoru hima)
Mika, are you free for tonight?

MIKA: なんで?別になんもないけど… (Nande Betsu ni nan mo nai kedo)
What for? I mean I am, but…

KAZUKI: クラブいこ~よ~! (KURABU iko yo)
昨日, 自殺があってね (Kinou, jisatsu ga atte ne)
それのイベントやるのよ… (Sore no IBENTO yaru no yo)
Let’s go to the club!
A girl killed herself there last night.
I want to go check out the scene…

MIKA: う~ん、でもそれって不謹慎じゃ… (Uun, demo sorette fukinshin ja)
Uh…yeah, OK. But don’t you think that’s trespassing on sacred ground or something?

KAZUKI: こりゃ, ミホの言い分も少しわかるわ… (Korya, Miho no iibun mo sukoshi wakaru wa)
ジョシコ~セ~らしくないな~ (JOSHIKOーSEー rashikunai na)
Aww, don’t make me agree with Miho here!
(6)Boy, you’re getting old!

MIKA: そうかな~? あたし変わったかな? (Sou ka na Atashi kawatta ka na)
Geez, really? Have I really gotten boring to be with?

KAZUKI: 守りはいってるって! (Mori ha itterutte)
(7)That’s what my babysitter said!

MIKA: なんか, 逸島センパイに (Nanka, Itsushima-senpai ni)
怒られちゃうような…… (okorare chau you na)
You don’t say. Itsushima-senpai and I
are going to have a talk about this……

KAZUKI: 歯切れ悪いなぁ, もう! (Hagire warui naa, mou)
Oh, cripes! Did I say too much?

MIKA: なんてゆ~か… (Nante yuuka)
いろんなことが起こりすぎてさ (Ironna koto ga okori sugite sa)
ちょっとパニックてるのよ… (chotto PANIKKU teru no yo)
Looks like it…
I’ve just been under a lot of pressure lately,
so it’s hard to let loose.

KAZUKI: あんたは無作為に (Anta ha musakui ni)
人と関わり過ぎなんだよ (hito to kakawari sugi nanda yo)
Methinks you should set
a limit on the number of peers you have.

MIKA: そうかな… (Sou ka na)
You think?

KAZUKI: だから, ほらっ! (Dakara, horau)
たまには外に目を向けなきゃ! (Tama ni ha soto ni me wo muke nakya)
パーっとさ! (PAA tto sa)
クラブでダンシングって感じで! (KURABU de DANSHINGU tte kanji de)
So, come on!
Go out with us for once!
You’re one of the girls!
Club dancing’ll make you feel less wrung out!

MIKA: う~ん… (Uun)
踊る気分じゃないな~ (Odoru kibun janai na)
今度, 付き合うよ… (Kondo, tsukiau yo)
Yeah…
Still, I’m in no mood for dancing right now…
Maybe next time, OK?

KAZUKI: しょうがないな… (Shouganai na)
じゃあ, また今度ねっ! (Jaa, mata kondo neu)
That’s too bad…
Some other time then!

MIKA: うん, わかった… (Un, wakatta)
有難う, 気ィ使ってくれて (Arigatou, ki itsukatte kurete)
Got it.
Thanks for looking out for me, Kazuki.

KAZUKI: …イベント始まっちゃうから! (IBENTO macchau kara)
それじゃね, バイバイ! (Sore ja ne, BAIBAI)
…Hey, the craziness can wait!
See ya later, bye!

MIKA: …うん, バイバイ (Un, BAIBAI)
…See ya, bye.

It's after school, and a pervert is on the loose...
It’s after school, and a pervert is on the loose…

MIKA: …人って何考えてるんだろ? (Hito tte nani kangaeterun daro)
疲れるよ, 人間関係って (Tsukareru yo, ningen kankei tte)
センパイたちも (Senpai-tachi mo)
相手してくんないし…… (aite shitekun nai shi)
…What is with the people these days?
Just talking to them is wearing me out.
Too bad I couldn’t drop by
Senpai’s place today……

MIKA: …ここ, 昨日の場所だ? (Koko, kinou no basho da)
…Oh yeah. I almost forgot about last night.

MIKA: …あんなことでも (Anna koto demo)
人の優しさ感じちゃうよ~ (Hito no yasashisa kanji chau yo)
勇気いるもんな, 人と接触するのって (Yuuki iru mon na, hito to sesshoku suru no tte)
…Some old creep was trying to
(8)make nice-nice with me here.
Sure took guts for me to even talk to him.

MIKA: あっ! (Au)
いかんいかん, 弱気になっちょろ (Ikan ikan, yowaki ni nacchoro)
いかんぜよ, こんな事じゃ! (Ikanze yo, konna koto ja)
Ah!
I’d better split!
Who knows if he likes to stalk this place!

He ignored me... ;_;
He ignored me… ;_;

MIKA: こんばんは…… (Konbanha)
Good evening, sir.

MIKA: …………

MIKA: あれっ? (Areu)
あれ~? なんでないの~? (Are Nandenai no)
Huh?
Wha…? Where’d my key go…?

400

MIKA: …こんな時間に子供? (Konna jikan ni kodomo)
…What’s a kid doing out this late?

Excuse me, miss. You seem to have let me steal your housekey, but let's pretend I found it at my convenience to be able to meet with you personally and be semi-properly introduced at the beginning of the story, 'kay?
“You dropped this.” [TRANSLATION: Excuse me, miss. You seem to have let me steal your key, but let’s pretend I found it at my convenience to be able to meet with you personally and be semi-properly introduced at the beginning of the story, ‘kay?]
MIKA: ありがと…… (Arigato)
Oh. Thanks……

MIKA: ただいま~ (Tadaima)
I’m home!

The Kishii family
The Kishii family
The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “So Mika? Are you having a good time in school?”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Why do you ask this all of a sudden, dear?”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “There’s an article here about a dead girl in Shibuya. The girl always skipped school and went clubbing, and the parents weren’t even aware of this. Seems that problems at home have cropped up here in Japan. It’s parents’ jobs to think more of their children.”

MIKA: …大丈夫だよ, パパ (Daijoubu da yo, PAPA)
あたしは今を生きているから (Atashi ha ima wo ikiteiru kara)
…Dad, I’m fine.
I’m still alive, aren’t I?

The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “Alive, eh?”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Papa, let’s not discuss such things over dinner! Mind your language once in a while.”

MIKA: あたし独特ランゲージなんだよ (Atashi dokutoku RANGEEJI nanda yo)
パパもこいうの勉強しないと (PAPA mo koiu no benkyou shinai to)
I speak a unique language.
Dad should start picking up on it.

The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “I suppose so, though I’m just as happy not to have to work to understand it. Getting old is so–“
The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Yes yes, that’s enough, Papa.♪  Your language is brazen enough, so let’s keep it that way, yes?”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “…Fair enough.”

MIKA: …ねぇ, ママ? (Nee, MAMA)
今日帰ってくるとき (Kyou kaette kuru toki)
小さい男の子がいたんだけど (chiisai otoko no ko ga itan dakedo)
……近所のコかな?(Kinjo no ko ka na)
…Hey. Mom?
I met this kid
in the corridor earlier.
……Do we have kids living here?

The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Well, we do have plenty of children in the building.”

MIKA: でもこんな時間におかしくない?(Demo konna jikan ni okashikunai)
But isn’t it weird to have a kid still out at this hour?

The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Is it now…I wonder about that…that must be dangerous…”

MIKA: …あ~あ (Aaa)
適当に聞いてるよ、この人 (Tekitou ni kiiteru yo, kono hito)
…Geez.
Pay attention to your kid once in a while.

The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “OH!!!”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S MOM: “Papa! Keep your voice down!”
The Kishii family
MIKA’S DAD: “LOOK! Isn’t that Mika on TV?!”
41
“On tonight’s news, tragedy strikes at Reigetsu Pass, where a collision between a meat truck and a motorcycle has occurred. On the scene is Ms. Ishiza.”

THE HEADLINES: 麗月峠でトラックの事故 (Reigetsu Touge de TORAKKU no jiko)
TRUCK ACCIDENT AT REIGETSU PASS

There are two things that stand out in that picture. Guess who they are...
“We report live from the site of the accident. Police are on the scene as they sift through the wreckage. The truck driver, age 35, sustained injuries from the impact but will survive. The accident occurred around 1 AM in the morning, resulting in the motorcycle’s explosion that caught the owner within its blast radius. The victim is one Kyouko Kazan, age eighteen. Ms. Kazan’s body is currently being retrieved by paramedics…”
Red-eyed Kyoko-san??
Red-eyed Kyouko-san??

CHARACTER PROFILE: 華山 響子さん (18)
KAZAN KYOUKO (18)

——————————————————————————————————————–
TRANSLATOR’S NOTES:
(1) More on the expletive that his head isn’t screwed on right
(2) Even I’m not sure if this is what he meant abbreviation-wise
(3) There seems to be some type of play on words Mika was making here. I failed to deliver it properly.
(4) The kanji for the mountain pass is also applicable to names for girls. There were 3 variants: Reizuki, Riruna and Reigetsu.
(5) Using “bitch” in this context is way too harsh for a highschool girl to use.
(6) The idea that Mika’s turning into a goody two-shoes is presented by saying that she’s maturing, and acting less free-spirited and young. LOL
(7) She should be babysat by Yayoi…LOLZ!
(8) I apologize for the dumbness of this phrase.

Leave a comment